Variety online - June 19, 2001 - 
Goodspeed Musicals Awards

Variety online

(Editors note:  Even though James is not mentioned in this article, I felt it would be great to share with you all the fact that this production won these three Theatre awards.)

Goodspeed tops Conn. crix honors
'Brigadoon' wins for best musical prod'n, direction
June 19, 2001
By Markland Taylor
SOUTHBURY, Conn. -- Goodspeed Musicals nabbed four awards, while the Hartford Stage Co. and the Long Wharf Theater won three each at the 11th annual Connecticut Critics Circle Awards.
Goodspeed's "Brigadoon" was honored for best musical production as well as direction (Greg Ganakas) and choreography (Peggy Hickey) of a musical. John Scherer, of Goodspeed's "George M!," won the nod for actor in a musical.
Hartford's three awards were for Anne Dudek as actress in a play ("The Glass 
Menagerie"); Jeremy Shamos, actor in a play (William Luce's "Baptiste: A Life of 
Moliere"); and Toni-Leslie James, costume design ("Baptiste").
Long Wharf's awards all went to Charles L. Mee's "Big Love." They were for production of a play; Lauren Klein, who tied with Dudek as best actress in a play; and Lee Waters for direction of a play.
The actress in a musical award went to Kristen Howe in "Joseph and the Amazing 
Technicolor Dreamcoat'' at Bridgeport's Downtown Cabaret Theater. "Dreamcoat'' 
also won for Hugh Hallinan's lighting design.
Set design went to Adam Huggard for "The Man Who Could See Through Time'' at Waterbury's Seven Angels Theater; sound design, David Budries, Yale Rep's "Heaven''; ensemble performance, Jane Curtin, Sam Freed, Neil Patrick Harris, Fritz Weaver and Elizabeth Wilson in the Westport Country Playhouse's "Ancestral Voices"; and for roadshow, the Royal Shakespeare Co.'s "Macbeth', presented by New Haven's Intl. Festival of Arts & Ideas.
The debut award went to M. Neko Parham in "Tamer of Horses'' at Stamford Theater Works. George C. White, retired founder of Waterford, Conn.'s Eugene O'Neill Theater Center, received the Tom Killen Memorial Award.

Back to  Index